Help with Console

Post Reply
Anne
Senior Climatologist
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:18 pm
Altitude: 31
Weather Station: Davis VV
Location: Scotby

Help with Console

Post by Anne » Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:49 am

I have a Davis Vantage View with a console and data recorder. I think the console is the same or very similar to that on the more sophisticated Davis stations that many of you use. I started using the setup in January 2010.

During all that time it has been my practice to keep the console in the hall so we can all see it easily. Each month I unplug its power supply and take it to my PC to download the data. All this with no problem until now.

The last couple of times I unplugged the power supply the console went blank and I had to 'start again' with all the initial location details. About 2 hours (4 recordings) of data are lost when this happens (not critical!). I did change the console battery the first time it happened and presumed all would be well but the same thing happened this month as well. I now have it plugged in to power near the PC but its not really what I want!

Anyone got any ideas, please?

Anne

User avatar
Paul C
Professor
Posts: 8479
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Brampton
Contact:

Re: Help with Console

Post by Paul C » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:27 pm

Are the batteries moving around and loosing its connection ?

Make sure the metal prongs are visible enough and havent become flattened over the years the battery has been pressing on it ?

Can I ask how you connect your console to the PC - USB etc

Not sure I can think of anything else at the moment.

Anne
Senior Climatologist
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:18 pm
Altitude: 31
Weather Station: Davis VV
Location: Scotby

Re: Help with Console

Post by Anne » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:16 pm

Yes, I connect to the PC with the USB cable that came with the console. No problem with that. I'll bite the bullet and check the battery connectors again. The console is normally connected to the mains electric so only needs the battery during the fairly short time I'm downloading the month's data.
Anne

User avatar
wmb
Chief Area Forecaster
Posts: 3531
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:57 am
Altitude: 40
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Seaton

Re: Help with Console

Post by wmb » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:24 pm

Sounds like batteries have died. I normally change mine very few years, as nothing like finding them flat when you need them - or worse still they leak!

Post Reply

Return to “Weather Stations and Software”