Cumbria Weather Forum
 Weather chat and discussion for Cumbria - Established 2nd November 2009

 

 

 
  Index  • Wiki  • FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:20 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Vantage VUE on the blink 
Author Message
 Post subject: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 1:00 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 4:54 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Wetheral Pasture
Altitude: 82
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Reply with quote
I've had a VUE for almost 3 years, and for the modest outlay it has given good service. However, it is now intermittently failing to register any data on the console, the stops and starts having no obvious pattern. ISS battery changed and cleaned but makes no difference. Very grateful if anyone has any suggestions!
Thanks,
Andy - Wetheral Pasture


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:37 pm 
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 7478
Location: Brampton
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Reply with quote
Hi Andy

WELCOME TO THE FORUM

Sorry your Vantage Vue isnt working, frustrating !!

I haven't got one, but I assume the console inside your house receives data wirelessley ? is it receiving all the packages. I can put my Davis VP2 into a mode for checking if its transmitting OK, comes as a percentage figure ?

_________________
Paul C
Brampton. 117m ASL.
http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk
Imagehttps://twitter.com/#!/pacrabtree


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:10 pm 
Senior Climatologist

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 869
Location: Scotby
Altitude: 31
Weather Station: Davis VV
Reply with quote
I have a Vantage Vue. A couple of years ago the console screen got a fault. I emailed Davis support with a photo of the problem. They were quick to respond and I sent it away to Southampton for the screen to be replaced. They didn't charge!! I guess it was still in warranty but can't remember the timescales now.

Paul, I 'think' the console for the VV is the same or similar to yours.
Anne


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:39 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 4:54 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Wetheral Pasture
Altitude: 82
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Reply with quote
Curiously, after several months of increasingly intermittent data receipt and lack of ideas on how to put it right, my VUE is now working 100% again. I was just about to shell out grumpily on another ISS for the new year but thought it best to check the old one again first... Nothing changed or moved, bit of a mystery why it's come back to life, but a pleasant surprise!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:17 pm 
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 7478
Location: Brampton
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Reply with quote
shedmaster wrote:
Curiously, after several months of increasingly intermittent data receipt and lack of ideas on how to put it right, my VUE is now working 100% again. I was just about to shell out grumpily on another ISS for the new year but thought it best to check the old one again first... Nothing changed or moved, bit of a mystery why it's come back to life, but a pleasant surprise!


Have you got by chance a tablet ( Computer Tablet)

I found if I placed mine within 6ft of my Davis Console it stopped receiving data - I nearly forked out for a new one aswell until I moved the tablet to another room by chance

_________________
Paul C
Brampton. 117m ASL.
http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk
Imagehttps://twitter.com/#!/pacrabtree


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:39 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 4:54 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Wetheral Pasture
Altitude: 82
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Reply with quote
At the time I did try moving the console around, without success.
But, curiously, it does roughly coincide with the arrival of a work tablet which used to sit on the desk only a few feet from the VV console...
Now I just have to calibrate the missing months with Brampton and Scotby to continue the run of data!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:36 am 
Senior Climatologist

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 869
Location: Scotby
Altitude: 31
Weather Station: Davis VV
Reply with quote
You're welcome to my data. Just let me know what you need. Mine is a Vantage Vue too!
Anne


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:09 am 
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 7478
Location: Brampton
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Reply with quote
Anne wrote:
You're welcome to my data. Just let me know what you need. Mine is a Vantage Vue too!
Anne


and with mine, free to use

_________________
Paul C
Brampton. 117m ASL.
http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk
Imagehttps://twitter.com/#!/pacrabtree


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vantage VUE on the blink
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:10 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 4:54 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Wetheral Pasture
Altitude: 82
Weather Station: Davis Vue
Reply with quote
Thanks Anne, Paul. Will let you know how I get on...
Happy new year!
Andy


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group