Cumbria Weather Forum
 Weather chat and discussion for Cumbria - Established 2nd November 2009

 

 

 
  Index  • Wiki  • FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:05 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Resetting maximum thermometer 
Author Message
 Post subject: Resetting maximum thermometer
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:42 pm 
Weather Nut
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:22 pm
Posts: 1935
Location: Isel valley, Northern Lakes
Altitude: 140m
Weather Station: Manual
Reply with quote
not sure i ever do it right

it seems to take me multiple flicks of the thermometer to get it to the current temperature

also the mercury is then prone to sliding up the thermometer once reset

anyone else do it in a particular way?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting maximum thermometer
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 9:08 pm 
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 7467
Location: Brampton
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Reply with quote
What kind of thermometer is it ?

I do something like this about three times - then check if Max has dropped to whatever the dry bulb reading is at the time


Attachments:
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG [ 17.38 KiB | Viewed 698 times ]

_________________
Paul C
Brampton. 117m ASL.
http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk
Imagehttps://twitter.com/#!/pacrabtree
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting maximum thermometer
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:36 pm 
Weather Nut
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:22 pm
Posts: 1935
Location: Isel valley, Northern Lakes
Altitude: 140m
Weather Station: Manual
Reply with quote
russell scientific one

thanks that diagram helps i have only been doing it from step 2 to 3

do you repeat the whole thing 3 times you mean?

glad i haven't been doing it too wrong!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting maximum thermometer
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:59 pm 
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 7467
Location: Brampton
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Reply with quote
Yes - I do it three times at least and quite aggressively ( stand well clear of screen, I smashed one to bits ) - really important to have it set as same as dry bulb at 0900hrs

_________________
Paul C
Brampton. 117m ASL.
http://www.bramptonweather.co.uk
Imagehttps://twitter.com/#!/pacrabtree


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting maximum thermometer
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:14 pm 
Weather Nut
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:23 pm
Posts: 1864
Location: Maulds Meaburn, Cumbria
Altitude: 183
Weather Station: Davis VPro2
Reply with quote
To prevent the issue of the 'sliding' Mercury when you replace the thermometer in the screen - when you read it in the morning, hold it up vertically and read it that way.
By doing it that way the Mercury as slid back to its true max'.

_________________
Darren Rogers - he who submits the most interesting posts, AKA Mr Data
Maulds Meaburn


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group