VP2 on the blink

Post Reply
User avatar
Paul C
Professor
Posts: 8553
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Brampton
Contact:

VP2 on the blink

Post by Paul C » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:21 pm

I have had my Davis VP2 now for many years, possibly 10yrs and I think its just about had it. I have had two anemometers, replaced the temp/humidity probe 3 times and added a repeater station. But over the last 6 months I have had periods of downtime, where there is a complete loss of signal, which is no good when I rely on regular data being transmitted onto my website, twitter feed and WOW etc.

I am now thinking of a replacement, fortunately my console is OK, so its just the rest of it to replace - an expensive business !!

I am very keen to have a fresh VP2, but are there any other weather stations that provide a similar feed of quality data, that I can use on my website. The Davis Vue looks OK, but as my station site is 250yards away from the house concerned the data wont be able to reach that far and how accurate the data would be compared with a VP2

Any thoughts
( I know what I would say if anybody asked the same question ) :D

User avatar
wmb
Chief Area Forecaster
Posts: 3555
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:57 am
Altitude: 40
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Seaton

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by wmb » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:26 pm

Is the station down or is it signal related? There maybe some external interference with the signal that you have no control over from other radio sources. Any chance someone's being using a dodgy electronic lawnmowercor hedge trimmer today?

Anne
Senior Climatologist
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:18 pm
Altitude: 31
Weather Station: Davis VV
Location: Scotby

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by Anne » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:23 am

As you know, I have a Davis Vantage Vue and have had no problems with it so far. However I chose it because it was less expensive than yours and the spec said it was aimed at the 'hobby' weather recorder. Paul, you are much more serious than me (and probably have a lot more years left!!) .......... your choice!
Anne

User avatar
Carl M
Assistant Professor
Posts: 6272
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:25 pm
Altitude: 7m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Drumburgh
Contact:

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by Carl M » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:59 am

Paul C wrote:( I know what I would say if anybody asked the same question ) :D
Looks like you're going to have to ''bite the bullet'' Paul. A new VP2 it is then ;)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Drumburgh 7m AMSL (Solway Estuary)
http://www.coggabata.co.uk/weather.html

User avatar
Paul C
Professor
Posts: 8553
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Brampton
Contact:

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by Paul C » Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:53 pm

wmb wrote:Is the station down or is it signal related? There maybe some external interference with the signal that you have no control over from other radio sources. Any chance someone's being using a dodgy electronic lawnmowercor hedge trimmer today?
Good thought, but its off for hours even through the night then pops back on again when it chooses

User avatar
Paul C
Professor
Posts: 8553
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Brampton
Contact:

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by Paul C » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:46 pm

Carl M wrote:
Paul C wrote:( I know what I would say if anybody asked the same question ) :D
Looks like you're going to have to ''bite the bullet'' Paul. A new VP2 it is then ;)
Yep - fresh one ordered this evening ( weather station now working, it must have heard me !!)

User avatar
Paul C
Professor
Posts: 8553
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Brampton
Contact:

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by Paul C » Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:47 pm

New VP2 installed - looks alot better than the old one. Better looking raingauge with spikes to keep the birds off and a funnel device to stop debris build up

Had a few communication issues at first, but now working. Will be raising anemometer tomorrow on a extra 6ft section, should take me to around 15ft

User avatar
wmb
Chief Area Forecaster
Posts: 3555
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:57 am
Altitude: 40
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Seaton

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by wmb » Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:54 pm

How old was the old one? Mines now running at I think 7 and a bit years old. Think i've replaced the internal lithium battery a coupl of times and had one new temperature/humidity probe.

Suspect mine maybe running on borrowed time now.

User avatar
Paul C
Professor
Posts: 8553
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:52 pm
Altitude: 117m
Weather Station: Davis VP2
Location: Brampton
Contact:

Re: VP2 on the blink

Post by Paul C » Thu Sep 29, 2016 7:46 pm

wmb wrote:How old was the old one? Mines now running at I think 7 and a bit years old. Think i've replaced the internal lithium battery a coupl of times and had one new temperature/humidity probe.

Suspect mine maybe running on borrowed time now.
About 10 years -

here is the new raingauge

Image2016-09-26 14.50.35 by Paul Crabtree, on Flickr

Post Reply

Return to “Weather Stations and Software”